And the Winners are…


Winner-2014-Web-Banner

November is officially done and over with. December is here. Do I hear Saint Nick? Is that the sound of wrapping paper I hear?

How did you do? Did you pass that 50,000 word count like a pro or did you cross that finish line by the nose? Even if you didn’t hit that required word goal having written anything is an accomplishment all on its own. Words don’t write themselves. Stories don’t tell themselves. Ok maybe that last one does, but it needs you, the writer, to share it with the rest of us.

So, if you hit that dreaded 50,000th word go get those well deserved banners, print out that award, and grin like the awesome badass that you are. You wrote 50,000 words!

If you fell short, don’t sweat it. Your story is still there, listen to it and write the rest. Use the hype, the tips, and the tools you gathered during NaNoWriMo and power on through.

In whatever category you fall into, November was hectic to say the least. What still awaits you might have you wanting to hibernate for the rest of the year, heck maybe even well into next year. Where are my warm blankets?

What exactly awaits you?

  • Revising
  • Editing
  • Book Cover hunting (or designing if you also enjoy that part of the creative process)
  • Formatting
  • Submitting
  • Uploading (if you go the self publishing route)
  • Marketing & Promoting
  • Author Platform (hopefully you started this before November)

The list goes on. Working on a novel doesn’t end when you’ve written it.

Catch a snooze, a well overdue long nap and hop right back to it. You worked hard, now share that hard work with us. I want to read your story, so let me. 🙂

And here is my total word count: 50734

Do I hate every word I wrote? Maybe? But I will tell you this, I dislike them less than the words I still need to write. 🙂

Thanks for taking this challenge with me, for making this journey momentous. This was my first year finishing NaNoWriMo and I look forward to sharing the next one with you. But don’t disappear just yet, there is much more to come. I will be tackling the to-do list above and plan to hold a very nice surprise here soon as another way to say thanks.

So don’t go away or you’ll miss out. And why not share your final word count with us?

4 thoughts on “And the Winners are…

  1. Congrats! I just completed my first NaNo novel, too! You’re right, we do deserve a nice long nap 🙂 Check out my blog at glasstypewriter.wordpress.com

  2. Kudos to everyone that finished the 50,000 written word goal. Fist pump.👊 Bah-a-la-la-la. 😁

Leave a Reply

